Last one to 85 wins….

8 Dec

I don’t know what to do.  I don’t know where to start.  Annoyed with myself I’ve been plinking around trying to kick things off and get excited about leveling again.  It’s not working.  Instead I end up logging on to a favorite toon and doing the following:

  1. Buying my Flight Master’s License
  2. Picking up Archaeology
  3. Training Professions
  4. Heading to Hyjal
  5. Sitting there Gobstomped as MILLIONS of Moon Guarders swarm the quest givers
  6. Piddle my way through a few quests
  7. Log out – Log in another Alt and start the process over

I’m almost out of alts.

And I don’t know what to do first or with which toon.

The sneaking, suspicious part of me is starting to think that after all these years and all the words I’ve written, I’m simply getting bored of the game.  Yeah – that’s what I said.

Bored of the game?  NOW?  Cataclysm’s release, with all of these things you’ve been looking forward to and you’re bored now??? REALLY?

Maybe?  I dunno.

All I know is that I just can’t seem to get started.  Many of my friends have already managed to make it to level 82-83 and I’m not even out of the gate yet.  There’s a part of me that wants to just dive in and start completely over – cast it all to the wind.  There’s another part of me that thinks *that other* part is stupid and reminds me how much time I’ve put into my paladin, my druid and my beloved hunter.

Frustrated with it all I decided to avoid the “who to level up next” question and rolled over to Gilneas to try out the Worgen scene.  I was thoroughly entertained and after accepting that I too would be rolling a Worgen Druid (for educational purposes you understand!) I managed to finally finish things up and hit Darnassus today.  Something irks me though.  Not sure what it is.  As a visual creature I tend to gravitate toward characters that I’m happy to look at day in and day out.  The male worgen form bugs me.  Unfortunately the female worgen voice is honestly more annoying than a blood elf male’s voice and I don’t know if I could handle that.

Frustrated.  So thoroughly frustrated.  Ah well – I have a couple more alts I can kill time with tonight.  Maybe inspiration will strike.

 

6 Responses to “Last one to 85 wins….”

  1. Bristal December 9, 2010 at 00:41 #

    My advice:
    Leveling is the roleplaying portion of the mmoRpg. Choose you favorite toon. Main or whatever. ONLY level with that toon. Read the quests. TRY to pretend that you’re really doing something worthwhile for Azeroth.

    In a few hours you might actually begin to feel immersed a bit. If you bounce from toon to toon it totally breaks it. Do all your dailies/training/professios on other toons if you want. But leave the leveling to only your FAVORITE. Then when at max level move on to end game stuff only with your main awhile.

    You have at least a year and a half to do it all again with all your alts.

    Remember, you likely leveled most of those alts during Lich King waits for new raid content.

  2. Windpaw December 9, 2010 at 13:38 #

    @ Bristal – I think that’s my problem – I can’t seem to find a favorite anymore. Last night I managed to log on and do the first couple of chains in Hyjal on *three* characters. The positive part of that was that I actually really enjoyed myself. My interest is definitely piqued but I still haven’t settled on the toon I’d prefer to be playing. This of course leads to most of the frustration I think. If I can’t settle on a toon – then what does that mean when it comes time to do heroics or raid or pvp or any of the other things I enjoy?

  3. sirfwalgman December 9, 2010 at 14:50 #

    I thought the overcrowding and the massive respawn caused by that as well as being ganked like 50 times in the new areas took away from the experience. I may do like you and roll my worgen priest!

  4. Windpaw December 9, 2010 at 15:38 #

    @ sirfwalgman – the overcrowding is brutal on Moon Guard. Though I gotta say – it’s only slightly better in the Worgen / Goblin starting areas. Expect to have *lots* of company there as well!

  5. Pike December 9, 2010 at 16:32 #

    I haven’t even been to the new post-80 zones yet. I have no desire to… yet. I don’t want to have to fight with the crowds, anyway.

    I rolled a goblin (hunter, obviously) yesterday afternoon and while there were a few others milling about it actually wasn’t that bad. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The goblin starter quests are HILARIOUS.

    Today after work I plan on either picking up my goblin again (logged out at level nine yesterday) or maybe trying a worgen, if I can figure out how to scrounge up a character slot on my Alliance server.

    No immediate plans to level my 80s. /shrug

    /hugs

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Last one to 85 wins…. « Shock and Paw -- Topsy.com - December 9, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Etni, Windpaw. Windpaw said: Last one to 85 wins….: http://wp.me/ppICh-pm […]

Leave a Reply

