Remember to Breathe

14 Oct

The forums are on fire.  Hot, angry, ready to quit fire.  There are quite a lot of people (who aren’t mages, shadow priests or warlocks) that are pretty bent out of shape about what 4.01 has done to their class.

Because I’m currently interested in this hunter of mine, I’ve been watching the molten river of angst flow through the official hunter forums, scorching and melting everything it touches.

It seems, that not everyone is enjoying their new focus bar.

People literally riducule me now when i try to play, his dps has been cut by 2/3’s, and no aoe to even try to make up for it. and u took eyes of the beast away the fun part of being a hunter again. after multiple respecs and buying outrageously priced glyphs 100’s of gold maybe thousands of gold later, im worse then i was b4 i was 80, i offically am parking my hunter , my main for over 4 years

** text is RED for added RAGE.

This is the taste and texture of what most of the detractors are claiming.  PvP Hunters QQ is noticeably worse.

In PvP: I have 3/5 wrathful with the 1800 weapon, been playing for 5 years got 129k honor kills… bout 1k resilience. Pretty much BiS items for PvP besides, obviously T2 weap couple more wrathful pieces, heroic DBW over my normal one. But i can’t kill a mage in blues and T9 because HUNTERS ARE OBVIOUSLY BROKEN AND NEED TO BE FIXED THERE IS NO REASON FOR ME TO DIE TO SOMEONE IN T9 EVER. This game is wrong right now and i REFUSE to play it, I can’t have fun because I DIE IN 2 SHOTS FROM ALTS WHO SOMEONE hasn’t even played in a couple of months.

** I wish I had something redder for this….

The caps really set things off.  Make you feel the tectonic levels of RAGE as the poster starts typing with their fists after having someone’s heroic geared frost mage nuke through his uber PvP hunter like a burning core of iron through tissue.  Others are equally angry, but manage to not bash their faces into the keyboards:

I’m finding it to be very difficult to use MM (Marksman Spec) in pvp. I just can’t get the damage out. I’m trying every… way I can think of.. but without being able to kite or deal damage point blank.. I have to agree with the above poster that’s it’s really not viable til level 83.

** You’ll notice the nice, calm blue here.  Well done!

Not viable until level 83.  The folks that have managed to remain positive are hoping that Aspect of the Fox will do something about their inability to kite and their constantly empty focus bars.  Others who claim to be in the beta tell these hopeful hunters that they really shouldn’t count on it.

Well.  I tooled around a bit last night and here’s what I found:

Normally – I do crappy dps on target dummies and respectable dps in raids / heroics.

Post Patch I have reversed this situation.

I went through VoA-10 last night as BM for 2 bosses and Marksman for a boss and some trash.  BM damage was about 1/2 of what I’m used to in a typical 10 man raid as an old school MM spec hunter.  Switching to my MM spec I found that my damage went up – but not by much.  I seem to have misplaced about 3-4k dps (or more) on average.  Keep the following in mind:

  1. I have not reforged any of my gear
  2. I have not taken a hard look at my gems (but I am almost full AGL – no ARP gems before the patch)
  3. I have not practiced any sort of shot rotation to the same degree that I did back when we had a mana bar
  4. I have refused to purchase some prime glyphs at current prices – thus – I am largely unglyphed
  5. I haven’t played my hunter or raided with him in almost a month

So, all of that said,  I’m probably about where I should be.

PvP though.  Woof.  It’s really hard to not get frustrated there.  Even specced as BM (the only hunter spec currently pvp viable if the forums are to be believed)  I was getting 2 shot by mages before I could really do any damage to well…anyone.  I suffered through two Alliance WSG pugs and finally decided I didn’t need the frustration anymore.  Nothing new here.  Practice makes perfect and I haven’t been practicing.  Still – I can more effectively kite on my Prot-Ret paladin than I can on my hunter – and that doesn’t make sense at all.

So – feeling a little awkward with my dps and still nursing bruises from PvP I decided to head into Zul’Gurub and work on grinding off the last 6k of reputation I need from those fine trolls before they’re gone forever.

Here things turned around.

Soloing with my tenacity pet was quite good.  Normally the Tiger boss trash is a bit of a pain in the ass what with all of those spinning axe throwers and the sea of tigers.  Not this time.  My ugly green Warp Stalker wandered into a double pack of them and we simply whittled the whole mess down to splinters.  On the Tiger boss and his friends – I took on all of them and thanks to multi-shot, trap launcher and a lot of focused pet dps managed to drop all three of the high priests faster and neater than any 20 man raid I was part of in vanilla ever thought about.

No Tiger Mount.  Go figure.

I finished my night by downing the snake boss, the raptor boss and clearing lots of trash looking for one of the little raptor pets (no luck).  After about 1000 rep worth of kills and an equal amount of coins and bijous collected I did some fishing.  Have to get my Chef’s title after all….and there are lightning eels in ZG for my stormchops (yum!).

All in all I think things are mostly fine.  I do think hunters are in a weird place right now – particularly when it comes to pvp mobility.  But honestly – that might just be me being bad.  We’ll see.  Otherwise – dps isn’t optimal but it’s not bad either.  Plus, most dps players are way too worried about raw numbers.  Yes, yes, numbers are important – but I’m hoping that in Cataclysm I’m doing enough boss kiting and trapping that there’s a reason why I’m not topping meters.  That’s way more interesting than congratulating myself over pressing a collection of buttons in the right order for 4-5 minutes.

So – hunters are mostly fine – just need to relearn how to Huntar.  Whether the new hunter is truly *fun* or not, we’ll see.  A lot of folks are saying that it isn’t and that they’re going to quit if Blizzard doesn’t fix it.  The best folks to listen to are the handful that have managed to avoid the QQ and are quietly sharing information about rotations and talent specs and the results of their 20 minute target dummy session.  They’re actively working on trying to figure things out, trying to get themselves back to good.  Through their hard work and attention to detail they most likely will and they’ll bring a lot of those quitters and complainers back from the brink as they do.

Remember to breathe.  The sky…is not falling.

One Response to “Remember to Breathe”

  1. Zahngril October 14, 2010 at 22:13 #

    I think the most relative point to your post that many hunters are missing right now is, “So – hunters are mostly fine – just need to relearn how to Huntar.” This is so true. If the QQers would simply spend a decent amount of time messing with all of our new tools, they’d find it’s pretty fun.

    It’s obvious CC is coming back with Cata in grand BC style and with Scatter shot becoming base line it will be more fun! My old Co-RL and I spent a good hour last night testing all 3 specs both on dummies and in heroics to see what the story was. BM is way different but as you mentioned, fun with the new Focus Fire and KC semi-spam. The good news is, that after we had time to spec, glyph and practice a bit last night we did head’s up testing on the heroic dummy (we have almost the exact same gear and our w-h.com score is identical). These numbers are relative to gear, etc but: MM was in front with @ 6350; SV was close behind with @6300 and BM was closer than it has been for all of Wrath @ 6050. So for all those folks looking to successfully raid with BM again, it’s possible. We’re only about .5% off in dps numbers and that could be due to us using Spirit Beasts as BM and wolves with the other two but that’s speculation.

    Anyway, I LOL’d along with your post so I thought I would share some positive experiences we had.

    ~Zahn

Leave a Reply

