I Always Miss Release Day

4 Oct

Well – it’s really nice to have an official release date and all.  I’m actually kind of excited about it.  I think I’ll schedule a day or two of vacation time from work and let the wife know I might not be bathed, shaved, or communicative for that duration.

Normally I’m not all that plowed under by a new video game releasing, but I am excited for Cataclysm.   Why?  Well – other than the obvious wrecking of the old WoW world, the tons of new content, new classes and races and general newness non-withstanding, there’s also this little tid-bit that I feel is worth sharing:

I have never gotten to play the game when a new expansion is released.

Back in 2004 when Vanilla came out, I was stuck in Kosovo.

Burning Crusade?  Stuck in training area in Hohenfels, Germany.

Wrath of the Lich King?  Afghanistan.

I do not have a good record for being around when new expansions come out.  So, I’m actually pretty excited about getting to see this one from the *proper* perspective.

In game.

Keep your fingers crossed for me.

One Response to “I Always Miss Release Day”

  1. Kay October 5, 2010 at 15:20 #

    I’ve been around for two releases now and I’m playing in the beta at the moment… at least part of my time is spent looking at the game from a perspective of “ok, now, THIS quest will be impassable on release day, I’ll stop here and farm skins/herbs/ore/archaeology fragments for a day until everyone clears out.”

    Be prepared for close contact with the best and worst sorts of players your server has to offer.

    But otherwise? It’s gorgeous, you’re going to enjoy yourself.

Leave a Reply

