Gear Fail

15 Sep

If there’s one thing that I can say that I REALLY hate about World of Warcraft it’s how certain players view GEAR in the game.

First off.

Having good gear doesn’t make you good.

Conversely, having bad gear doesn’t make you bad either.

Sure, even I have made fun of hunters wearing spell power gems and strength gear, but this is beyond a simple lack of understanding in regards to game and class mechanics.  No, what I’m talking about are those that seem to think that anything not iLevel 264 or higher on a toon is some kind of black mark on the personal character of the player.  Just yesterday I saw one such walking rectum proclaiming on the official forums how another guild’s members were all so terrifically bad.

“They’re packing 232 gear from the 5-man Icecrown dungeons and wearing trinkets like Needle Encrusted Scorpion and pretending that they’re good.”

Hmm.  Well.  My hunter uses the Needle and the 10-man version of the Whispering Fanged Skull.  I’m not *bad* – I mean I’m not Kripparian or anything but no 10 or 25 man run I’ve been in has seen me drink deep of the fail cup nor slack in my ability to be in the top end of the overall damage meter.  I’m competent, I learn from my mistakes and I try to do the right things with my gear.

Am I perfect?  No.  As a hunter I broke my T9 2-piece bonus far too early and have never gone back to “fix” the problem yet.  Are raids I’m in getting the most dps for their money because of this?  NO…(I really need an editor sometimes…) Would I  happily back out of a raid where others were clearly out performing me and where my lack of performance would impact the raids ability to accomplish its goals?  Yes again.  A hearty, emphatic yes.

But my gear (or lack thereof) does not make me bad.

It’s the perception of implicit fail that oozes from the more asshat oriented of the elitists out there that has me at a slow boil.  Everyone plays this game for different reasons.  Some don’t raid.  The decision not to is personal.  Sometimes it’s because they are well and truly “bad”.  They can’t remember fights, don’t gear correctly, can’t take constructive criticism and don’t seek self improvement.  Players like this aren’t meant to raid, nor are they well suited to anything team oriented.

But most players don’t raid because they either just don’t have time or just don’t care to put up with the often drama filled time sink that raiding can be.  Their overall ilevel doesn’t make them bad people though.

Gear is a tool.  Some players have the time and inclination to collect the very best.  Good for them.  But having it – does not mean that they’re worth the pixels that made it.

3 Responses to “Gear Fail”

  1. Kay September 15, 2010 at 17:29 #

    I think that sort of gearmonkey fails to comprehend the difference between having a large tool and BEING one.

  2. Windpaw September 15, 2010 at 17:43 #

    heh…comment *win*

  3. Capn John September 15, 2010 at 22:08 #

    The Greedy Goblin’s Blue-only Raiding Guild pretty much proved that a full set of i264 gear is not only not necessary for Raiding, but that you don’t even need any i264 gear, not if you know what you’re doing.

    Insisting on i264 gear is nothing but wishful thinking. All you’re doing is stacking the Raid with overly geared players in the hope that it will compensate for lack of skill.

Leave a Reply

