Time to Go

16 Aug

I’ve enjoyed writing on this site a great deal.  I made my very first post while stuck in Afghanistan and had high hopes of making this a place where my writing and my love of WoW as a game and social experience could interact and entertain.

Sometimes it has.

More often than not it has turned into a distraction.  A place where I vent about my life in game and out and none of it to the betterment of anyone – much less myself.

This was supposed to be a place where I wrote. Where I created stories.  I never intended to be a “WoW How-To Blog” – nor one of those character diary blogs (though I enjoy both a great deal) – I was supposed to be writing the serialized life and times of my Tauren Huntress and her faithful wolf pet.  As Negathle can tell you, where one Tauren goes – others are quick to follow.  Rainchaser and Windpaw were joined by Rain’s older sister (Tigerclaw) and complimented by the the rough edges of their shamanic younger sister (Skychaser).  I wrote a little of each of them and even spent about 10,000 words on Tiger’ as an entry for last year’s writing contest.

Then something terrible happened.  People actually seemed to enjoy the stories.  They posted nice things and told me to keep writing!

Which of course means that I almost immediately stopped.

After getting a taste of just a little notoriety back in the blogs early days I let the attention (and the difficulty) of keeping up with my writing distract me from what was supposed to be the blogs focus.  In doing that, I cast aside the 1 True Rule of Blogging (Thou Shalt Have a Focus) and dithered my way into relative obscurity with pointless posts about WoW minutia that anyone can find done 100% better anywhere else on the web.

There have been a few half hearted tries to fix this, but they have not stuck.  What has survived I am not really proud of nor intend to maintain.

Now – this isn’t Windpaw up and deciding to take his dog dish and go home.  Not a chance.  But it is time to start over.  Unlike some of my contemporaries, I figure it’s best to move on when the blog is at an all time low tide for readership.  No drama – no angst – no distraction.  Just me coming to terms with a proud project gone awry and deciding what to do next.  This is a good time for both.

Safe travels to you all.

6 Responses to “Time to Go”

  1. Nora August 16, 2010 at 16:45 #

    Best of luck! I’m sure we will stay in touch. I hope you continue finding inspiration and excitement in some way or another in this online universe we all play in. 🙂

    I can’t say I’ve ever had any aspirations or grandiose plans for my own, let alone a “readership” – but that’s ok for me. For me, it’s just a place where I work my own thoughts out trying to figure out my own journey in game. But I certainly applaud the desire to refocus, reshift, and reconsider the project you’d started. Good luck!

  2. repgrind August 16, 2010 at 19:11 #

    Wait … I’m supposed to have a focus? No one bothered to tell me that. 😛

    I enjoyed just hearing what you were up to. Good luck with the new venture.

  3. furnurgler August 17, 2010 at 00:17 #

    Focus……that’s not till Cataclysm, What are you talking about! In all seriousness, I have enjoyed reading your blog and will continue to read your writings whereever you go and whatever you write about.

    Salute!

    Furn

  4. Angelya August 17, 2010 at 04:00 #

    I’ve enjoyed reading your stories and other musings – I hope you’re going to be writing them somewhere else? 🙂
    Stay safe ❤

  5. Lal August 17, 2010 at 13:20 #

    I, too, have enjoyed reading your stories and thoughts. Keep us informed when you start up something new. 🙂

  6. Tam August 23, 2010 at 13:48 #

    Wah! Sorry, I’m catching up on my blogs really late – so I experienced you unquitting before I read your quitting post.

    The main thing is, I’m really glad you were a temporary quitter only 🙂

Leave a Reply

