Unplugged

21 Apr

Mostly anyway.  So the Army calls and I’m off for a couple of weeks wearing the salad suit and practicing my grim demeanor.  For the moment it just means that I’m fairly busy – Internet challenged much of the time – and enjoying a few days in the Twin Cities before heading off to the land of beer and pretzels for a couple of weeks…(that’s Germany folks…not Wisconsin…..)

For the most part my efforts in game have been reduced to logging into my AH alts and conducting a little business.  I could do a little more, maybe eek away at Loremaster or try to finish up the Battered Hilt quests so I can finally get rid of my old 232 2-hander.  Honestly though – the desire just isn’t there.  Its Spring – the weather is amazing and St. Paul / Minneapolis have enough trails and bike paths to keep the mountain biking and trail running part of my brain on overload.  Each day we’re released – I jet back to my room – drop the salad suit and throw on my running shoes.  It feels good.

A big part of the mindset change has to do with going from an 150+ mile daily commute to one that lasts about 10 minutes (if I get lost…)  The amount of free time that gives me back is just this side of obscene and I’m enjoying every minute of it.

I’m going to keep writing right up until we ship out in a few days (European Volcanos and Airlines permitting) – but after that it’s probably going to go quiet for a while.  That’s okay though – we all need a break from one another and honestly – you’ve been letting yourself go some.  Maybe you should hit the trail while I’m gone – will do you some good.

Until then – take care of  yourselves – enjoy the game and don’t delete the Paw from your daily reading list quite yet 😉

4 Responses to “Unplugged”

  1. Tam April 21, 2010 at 08:52 #

    Fear not, there will be no deletions! Good luck, and see you on the other side.

  2. Nora April 21, 2010 at 10:58 #

    Best of luck and safe travels! Enjoy the beer and pretzels. 🙂

  3. Disorient April 29, 2010 at 04:20 #

    Hey about where in MN do you live? I live in the Brainerd Area and a huge WoW player…

  4. Nora May 4, 2010 at 19:26 #

    I suspect that’s the military base he’s being attached to/mobilized from. I had a friend who did something similar – though now I’m blanking if his attached unit was from WI and they did their pre-mob in MN, or the unit was from MN and they pre-mobed in WI….That said, they went to the ‘Gan, which is far less nice of a place to go than Germany! 😀

    How’s the beer?

Leave a Reply

