Making Druids Mad – Everywhere I go….

12 Apr

Just a few thoughts about the Cataclysm Druid Preview:

  1. Tree of Life will be a cooldown kinda thing – which means that while you’re healing, you get to look like a druid instead of the halleluja tree.  I mean, don’t get me wrong, I like the tree and all, but it would be nice to get to look like a *druid* for once – so I’m for this change.
  2. I wish they’d do this with Moonkin form too.  Seriously – I hate balance druids.  No, that’s not right.  I mean I love that druids get a ranged caster talent spec, but Moonkin form – really?  I know there are thousands of you that love being fat dancing birds – and you all deserve your own special club – but I just don’t get it.  If balance druids have to keep the owl-bird-thing, here’s to hoping Trolls and Worgen get a different form – I’m not expecting they will – but I can hope.
  3. Bears get a new button to push while tanking – good about time.  But best we can tell – they’re not getting anything to silence casters or reflect spells.  That’s too bad.
  4. Cats dps rotation is going to get simplified a little – probably a good thing – I’m getting old.
  5. We might get our bear and cat forms earlier than we do now.  That would be a huge help leveling and would allow folks that really want to be feral to at least feel feral before level 20.  I’d like to see the cat form get its own quest too.  I doubt it will – but again – I can hope.
  6. Magic Mushroom Attack….sigh….

A lot of angst out there regarding the druid preview.  Won’t go into it here – suffice it to say some folks seem fairly happy, but the rest are either underwhelmed or RAGING.  I’m undecided.  I was a vanilla WoW druid.  I remember them when they SUCKED no matter what form they were in.  Today – druids are one of the most versatile and impressive classes in the game.  I’ve got buddies in the military that refuse to play anything *but* druids.  The combination of stealth and attacks that come from land, sea, or air just suit their playstyle.

Overall – I guess I can say that I’m cautiously optimistic.  Druids have to be a miserably hard class to balance and they’re pretty damn formidable as is.  I don’t see the addition of 5 levels as being something that guarantees significant new abilities.  The refinement of existing abilities sure – but no overhaul.

Historically – I’ve alway gravitated to Shaman, Druids and Hunters (thus – the name of the blog) and I’m fairly happy with what I’ve seen for all three classes.  Whether I step down from the world of huntering and start a new main come Cataclysm really remains to be seen.

6 Responses to “Making Druids Mad – Everywhere I go….”

  1. Elionene April 12, 2010 at 17:18 #

    I never thought of myself as drawn to Druids, Hunters, and Shaman, but looking at my 80s… I have one of each. Maybe the fact that I’m not a very nature type person in real life led me to be a nature person in game? I don’t know.

  2. windpaw April 12, 2010 at 17:27 #

    Heh – despite being a loyal part of one of the most conservative and potentially damaging military organizations in the world, I’m a bonafide tree-hugger. Always have been. Boy am I lot of fun at the office 😉

  3. durkonkell April 12, 2010 at 19:10 #

    I don’t have a shaman at all, but I have a max level Hunter (naturally) and a druid on the way up in Outland. Pike had about 3000 level capped hunters and druids. A friend of mine who I leveled with (both hunters) has a druid just a few levels off 80.

    There’s certainly SOMETHING that attracts people who like hunters to druids 😛

  4. Capn John April 12, 2010 at 19:42 #

    Started as a Hunter at 60, turned to the dark side with a Rogue at 70, playing a Paladin now at 80. Come hell or high water, I WILL be rolling a Worgen Druid when the Cataclysm hits.

  5. Nora April 12, 2010 at 19:55 #

    Well, I have an 80 druid and shaman, only a 61 hunter though. Of course, I also have an 80 warlock, warrior, paladin, 71 mage and DK, so erm….I pretty much play everything but rogues.

    I’m with you on ChikkinForm. Hate it. Love the dance, but seriously – what about “owlbear” says “magical spellcaster? (I don’t care what WoW wants to call it, go pick up a Monster Manual. It’s an owlbear, damnit!) Also – can someone point to me in lore where the connection is between druids and owlbears? If there’s going to be a caster form, wouldn’t it have been something like a centaur, to honor their original routes, or perhaps a furbolg – traditional friend to the druids and nature? Why owlbear? They can keep the dance, just – WTB new form, PST.

    I’m definitely reserving judgment on what I play in Cataclysm until I see the new worgen forms. This could be win all over for me – but only if they’re new forms. So we’ll see.

    On spells – can’t speak to the healing changes since healing to me is like holy water to a vampire. EEKSCREECHCOWER GET IT OFF GET IT OFF! Bears do have an interrupt, bash I think, it’s just on a long cooldown. Ick. Something hit other than swipe – yay! Cat being simplified? Yes, please. I almost *have* a PhD for crying out loud and I’ll be damned if I can make sense of that “rotation”. Also, my wrists would never forgive me.

    I’m very curious about the metered eclipse, and how that will work in practice. The tough part in my conception is how the mechanic will actually work, to make you really rotate through the spells. Right now, it seems to me to maximize DPS you’d basically cast enough of Wrath to push the Arcane meter to full, then Starfall, then another quick Wrath to cap it again for another Starfall. I know they don’t want you constantly hitting “12121212” and alternating every other, so I’m really interested to see how they will balance this meter bar. Could be very cool, could be disastrous. I’m sure within weeks though, the munckiners will have figured out the best exploit and be busy posting mandatory specs and rotations though. 😀 If there’s one thing you can count on the WoW community for, it’s figuring out the “right way” to do something to eek out every once of potential power from it possible!

  6. Nora April 12, 2010 at 19:56 #

    Durr. Almost a PhD and I can’t even spell “roots”. Err, I mean, their original druidic routes *to* the demigod Centaur, right? Right! Take a left at the first oak tree then straight until you get to the maple in the clearing. Yes, that route. 😉

Leave a Reply

