The Best New Hunter Change for Cataclysm

9 Apr

I’ll be in the minority here – but this is my absolute favorite change to come out of the Cataclysm: Hunter Preview:

Additionally, hunters will now start with a race-appropriate pet at level 1 and will be able to tame a different pet at level 10.

No more starting off life at level one with a bow and a knife only.  No more spending 9 levels using Raptor Strike more than your ranged weapon.  It will be interesting to see what “race appropriate means”.  I hope they make that pet something special and not just something common.

Yeah – there are plenty of huge changes in the hunter preview that are probably more important.  The change from mana to focus – the addition of a new shot and infinitely launchable traps – the rebirth of the Camouflage ability.  But who cares.  I’ll let all those srs hunter bloggers whine/bitch/theory craft that to death – they’re good at it.  What’s cool to me is that when a new hunter steps out into the wastes of Durotar or under the star dusted skies of Teldrassil, they’ll do so with a weapon in one hand and their loyal companion at their side.

Just the way it should be.

(oh yeah a couple of notes: Klinderas – bro – they’re really getting rid of ammo – really….finally)

and

(I guess the addition of some melee ability is dead as they’re giving us some ranged abilities at level 1 now and getting rid of buttons we never hit – like Mongoose Bite….At least they’ve decided!)

(druid changes next plox – I may be back to druiding again full time come cataclysm if the changes tickle me in the right spot…)

and finally…

(I just realized that Negathle has signed off for the last time – what a kick in the junk – if you’ve ever read a hunter blog and and not read  hers – you’ve missed the point in my opinion.  Swing by the Angry Butterfly and let her know you’re miserable that she’s gone…)

5 Responses to “The Best New Hunter Change for Cataclysm”

  1. Elionene April 9, 2010 at 17:21 #

    I’m totally excited about starting out with a pet. It makes a whole lot more sense to me than being a melee class for 9 levels. Also, I was planning to level a Goblin hunter, and now I get to start out with a pet to boot!

    The other stuff, some of which we knew, such as focus, is going to be an adjustment. We’ll have to learn how to hunter all over again.

    Overall though? I’m a bit underwhelmed. Nothing seriously jumped out at me and made me say “HOLY FREAKING CRAP,THAT’S GOING TO BE AWESOME!”

    I was more excited about Life grip, and I don’t even have a high level priest.

  2. Windpaw April 9, 2010 at 17:31 #

    I was excited about life grip just because I can imagine the death grip / life grip wars that are guaranteed to start up on the bridge in Alterac Valley 🙂

  3. Pike April 9, 2010 at 19:05 #

    MORE STABLE SLOTS was what jumped out at me… eheheh.

  4. Kaylaura April 16, 2010 at 21:10 #

    I’ve always thought it was silly that hunters start out more as melee characters than ranged – this is awesome 🙂

  5. Klinderas April 18, 2010 at 07:41 #

    First, I’d like to say that although you have a pet at level 1, it’s still in your best interest to LEARN HOW TO KITE. BRK posted a few videos that are REALLY good about low level kiting. If done properly, you can go through 10 levels without a sweat, or a raptor strike.

    So even if you have a pet… LEARN TO KITE.

    Secondly, ZOMGZ.

    I really, REALLY hope they go through with the ammo change, because that is something that NO hunter should EVER have had to deal with. EVER.

    -Klin

Leave a Reply

