Cataclysm: Class Reviews

7 Apr

So this week we’re going to get a taste of what Blizzard has planned for our favorite classes in Cataclysm.  There’s a lot of excitement and trepidation around what this is going to mean for game play.  For myself – I’ve been pretty apathetic about the previews as I’m more interested in the changed world, the new quests, and new race class combinations.

But that flip-flopped when I read through the Shaman preview  ( You can find it: HERE )

Seriously – the changes coming for our totem wielding brethren are way more expansive than just a new level of FROSTSHAWK!  They’re getting tweaks that address how they level, how they manage their attributes and resources, as well as an ability that can increase their caster mobility.  Maybe I got a little over excited when I read the preview, but I have to say that I think they’ve really expanded and refined what it means to play a shaman and done so for the better.

Now – I’ve always been a dilettante Shaman.  Cindershock, my 80 has spent the better part of her life at the level cap as either a PvP toy or a transmutation spec alchemist faithfully churning out epic gems for the AH.  But come Cataclysm – I could actually see her taking a more prominent role again.  Or more likely – I could see her continuing to churn out her alchemical wares to fund a brand new dwarven enhancement shaman – which quite honestly – is one of the top 3 race/class changes I’m looking forward to.

(The others are Tauren Paladin and Worgen Druid respectively)

So – I’m excited!  Change!

Yeah!

As far as what the coming changes are going to look like for hunters?  Hard to say.  I’ve heard we’re going to lose our mana bars and that we might get a touch more melee viability.  At them moment I don’t really care.  I’m burnt out enough on hunters in general that I’m going to be cheering pretty much any change we get.  I’m probably in the minority I think, as most folks seem to like hunters pretty well as is.  We’ll see though – our change day comes on the 9th – should be interesting if nothing else.

What are you hoping for?  What race / class combo has you excited?  Or are you sitting in a bunker with your foil hat on, clutching an original copy of vanilla WoW, and praying that absolutely nothing changes?

** Oh yeah – one thing – the fact that come Cataclysm – shaman will no longer be able to cleanse poison – that gave me a serious 😦

4 Responses to “Cataclysm: Class Reviews”

  1. Nora April 8, 2010 at 18:55 #

    For me, I’m quite torn. The warlock changes are intriguing, so I’ll have to reconsider if I want to stick with the warlock after all. I can’t really say yea or nay on the soul shard tweaks, but I imagine it’s going to be something like a potion or mana gem. This adds complexity, and I’m always a fan of a reasonable level of complexity.

    I’m very excited for dwarf shaman, tauren paladin, and worgen druid as well. And goblins too! Though I doubt I will make my goblin a main.

    I’d like to get the hang of enhancement down better, because I’m really tempted by the idea of a dwarf shaman swinging hammers with braids a-flying. Just – when I try enhancement on my current shaman, my numbers are more than a bit embarrassing.

    Worgens also have great appeal – I’m especially interested in druids since I’ve never been quite the fan of night elves that so many WoW players are. But I’m also curious about some of their other flavors as well. I’m really looking forward to some screenshots of female worgen! Animations too.

  2. Windpaw April 8, 2010 at 19:06 #

    Enhancement has a fiddly attack priority list and I *still* have problems with it. It’s like anything else though – practice makes perfect. I’m so used to playing ranged that all of my old melee skills from playing a feral druid are just about gone.

  3. Nora April 8, 2010 at 20:30 #

    Yeah, I think the same is true for me. I’ve always gravitated towards either tanking or ranged DPS. Maybe I should just focus my efforts there.

    But – dwarves! And hammers! It’s like peanut butter and jelly, they just belong together.

  4. capnjohn April 9, 2010 at 16:00 #

    I’m holding off on leveling a Druid specifically so I can really enjoy my Worgen Druid. Whenever he gets here 🙂

Leave a Reply

