I’m Having Fun Here…Vanilla Side

27 Jan

Rainchaser is getting a break at the moment.  Fed up with raid drama and old guild drama and honestly pretty damn bored with WotLK heroic farming, I’ve all but put her on the shelf.  Right now the toon that seems to be getting all of my love is Keladryn, my baby prot paladin.

Thanks to LFG and some thorough questing in Eastern Kingdoms, Kel’ has hit level 46 faster than any toon I’ve ever played.  Of course all of Blizzard’s nerfs and 2 pieces of heirloom gear have a lot to do with that as well.

The  big thing I’m enjoying is getting to go back to all of the old vanilla 5-mans and getting to run them again. Sure, they’re nerfed to hell too, but it’s still fun.  Plus, with the LFG tool turning some of the larger dungeons into smaller chunks, places like Scarlet Monestary and Maraudon are much more reasonable.

One thing I have to say though – and I *hate* to say it…is that when I see a hunter in my group…I cringe.

Really.  Seriously cringe.

I don’t expect everyone in LFG to be an heirloomed old-timer, but I do expect that you’ve paid *some* attention to how to behave in an instance.  One hunter I ran with last night managed to hit every “huntard” marker she could find and seemed to be eager to create new ones.  In Zul’Farak she was constantly aggroing mobs or stumbling into packs I had been planning on completely bypassing.  Not a huge deal, but annoying and time consuming.  To make things even more fun, she insisted on using “volley” as her go-to ability.  Not a horrible plan in todays AoE fests, but pretty crappy when you’re fighting a single target.  Last but not least, once we killed Chief Sandscalp, Jang’thraze the Protector dropped.

Take a look at the stats on that little pig-sticker…It’s a tank weapon.  Not a great one – but a tank weapon all the same.  She *begged* to get to need on it.

Now…personally…I could care less.  Keladryn has both Valor heirlooms (shoulders and chest) and carries the Venerable Mass of McGowan around with a Crusader enchant on it.  I don’t need this sword.

But I just couldn’t stand for a hunter to get caught carrying one.

One thing I’ve learned in pugs is that no one wants to learn anything.  They all know everything and providing any helpful advice or guidance is usually met with silence or outright hostility.  So – I suffer my idiots quietly – kill the required boss and move on.  But this time.

“Seriously? You want to roll need on this sword?”

“ya I rly need a new sowrd! pls pls pls pls!!!”

“You’re a hunter – hunters usually want stats on their weapons, this one doesn’t have anything.  It really does you no good.”

Silence – she rolls need.

Sigh…whatever…I’m sure she’ll be gemming spell-power at 80.

Still, seeing my favorite class being handled so poorly by so many players is painful.  Hunters are not hard.  It is very simple to be successful as a hunter.  It’s also really easy to be a complete pain in the ass.

There was one though.  She was a draenei with a moth pet.  She very carefully and respectfully used it as an off-tank in Scarlet Monestary if anyone aggro’d a random mob that I couldn’t easily get to.

Some tanks hate this.

But as I watched her pick the adds up – turning growl on just long enough to get the mobs attention – and turning it off when I needed to pick the add up and roll it into the dog-pile we were AoEing – I really appreciated it.  Most would have just put their pet on it and kept it there.  This hunter didn’t – she knew how to use her pet to provide off-tanking and did it in such a way that *as* a hunter – I appreciated it.

So it’s not all bad…just mostly…and that’s kinda sad.

6 Responses to “I’m Having Fun Here…Vanilla Side”

  1. Capn John January 27, 2010 at 04:52 #

    I have Jang’thraze on my Pally Tank w/ a Fiery Enchant. I know it’s not the perfect Tank weapon, and at 49 (going on 50) I’m starting to outgrow it, but I lurve its graphic. It is soooo not your average looking sword, and that’s reason enough for me to keep wielding it until something better, and equally distinctive-looking, comes along.

  2. Nora January 27, 2010 at 14:22 #

    Prot paladins really are a ton of fun! I’ve always loved wee Angh. I wold say I hope this new toon of yours is a dwarf, but I suspect she’s a blood elf. Ah well, nobody’s perfect! 😉

    I’ve been in a heroic rut myself. Busted my little lockity tail for emblems for so long, I don’t think I can see another daily without going a bit insane. Instead, I’ve found I’m really interested in going back and working on old raid achievements.

    I just need to find more poor suckers to do them with me. Been debating putting a post on the server forums, but….talk about drama! 😉 Maybe I should go work on my own alts more…

  3. Windpaw January 27, 2010 at 15:35 #

    My dear Nora…

    http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Moon+Guard&cn=Keladryn

    Most certainly – *not* a blood elf 😉

    Old raid achievements sounds fantastic. I wouldn’t be surprised if you got a good response from a number of people!

  4. Nora January 27, 2010 at 17:50 #

    Woot! And I will have to look up at home, stupid government firewalls and their WoW-hating.

    Going to try to knock out a few Ulduar ones tonight after the meeting. Ah, you pretty little Proto-Drake with the shiny sigils on your wings…..You *will* be mine. Oh yes, you will be mine!

    I obviously need to work on my hunter more too. I mean, I’m stuck with a pet since Lokhna’s BM, but obviously I should ditch her current mail heirloom gear and send over my staff and cloth items. I’ve been doing it all wrong!

  5. Morane January 27, 2010 at 17:50 #

    All the five-man instances are interesting fun places to go. Though for some (Sunken Temple) the interesting lasts a bit too long. One thing the new LFG tool has done is take me to new places. Places I’d never have been able to get a group for in the past like Maraudon and the Old Kingdom.

    As far as strange characters go the most interesting one I had recently was our assigned paladin tank for a Utgarde Keep (normal) run. He had his talents spread equally across all three trees and he was wearing a mix of spellpower, stamina and agility gear. At least it was plate and he did have a shield. Not that it mattered much since we wiped on the first pull and he quit. IIRC we got though four tanks on that run.

  6. Nora January 27, 2010 at 22:50 #

    Hey wowza! DORF!

    I’m so proud. 🙂 They’re terribly addictive and fun – I intend on converting my mage and shaman to the dwarf side as soon as I can.

    Hope you’re enjoying yours as much as I have mine!

Leave a Reply

