Pure Tanking Bliss

21 Jan

I love to tank – but I’ve grown old and feeble and no longer enjoy the carpel tunnel tanking I’m used to on my warrior.  On whim I leveled a Paladin up to the mid 30’s or so and specced him Protection.  Last night I spent a couple of hours in the lowbie random dungeon finder.  What an incredible difference.

Things went so smoothly – mobs stuck to me like glue.  A quick judgement and a sprinkling of consecration and the dps couldn’t pay the bad guys to stop hitting me.

Yes – it’s face roll.  Yes – it’s only level 30(ish).  But I’m having an absolute blast – and isn’t that the damn point?

5 Responses to “Pure Tanking Bliss”

  1. Capn John January 22, 2010 at 05:23 #

    I love my Prot Pally Tank, too. It’s pure awesomeness.

  2. Nora January 22, 2010 at 13:38 #

    Protadining is definitely the most straightforward of the tanking classes. Not to say easy, mind – there are still bad prot tanks out there. But I’ve tanked as druid, warrior, and paladin and yes – paladin is definitely the most straightforward with the least amount of tab-target-smashbutton-tab-target-smashbutton. (In fact, there’s very little tab-targeting). Now – the down side to a prot paladin is, you don’t have a lot of the customization options you have as a warrior. There’s no spell reflect, limited taunts, and no massive aggro pull if your taunt is on cooldown. So it’s much more of a one-size-fits-all tanking style.
    All that said, I love my little dwarf lass!

  3. Morane January 22, 2010 at 15:16 #

    Curiously enough I’ve found my protection-specc’d paladin to be an excellent solo-questing character too. Seal of Corruption and Retribution Aura on. Activate Divine Plea and just wade in. Divine Storm (is that right?) spreads the corruption around. Righteous Fury takes the edge off the damage. I can walk out of most encounters with full health and full mana.

  4. windpaw January 22, 2010 at 15:39 #

    To be sure the mobility and flexibility of a warrior are missed. The sheer number of interrupts I have as a warrior are missed. But for most players in a random dungeon, the only real thing they’re watching their tank for – is the ability to hold the aggro of multiple mobs. It’s not a fair assessment of overall tanking talent I don’t think, but it is the most commonly referenced by pug dps everywhere 😉

    The Pally has the ability to keep trash adds under control like nothing I’ve ever seen. At one point last night as I tanked through Razor Fen Downs (the lowest level toon in the group) I was having trouble keeping aggro off of an Arcane Mage that was just incredibly AoE happy. I put my old warrior tanking mindset to work and busted my butt tab targeting and blowing through consecrates like crazy. I was a little worried that perhaps I’d spoken too soon about my ability to keep all the aggro.

    Then my cell phone rang.

    “Hello?”

    “Tom – are you there lad? – this is Keladryn your Paladin.”

    “Uh…yeah…shouldn’t you be smiting evil or something?”

    “I’m trying to laddy – but yer’ killin’ meh. For the lights sake – turn on RIGHTEOUS FURY!”

    The line went dead…

    I checked my buffs. Sure enough I’d just tanked two runs through RFD with my primary aggro creating ability turned off…

    >_<

    Things went swimmingly from that point forward.

  5. @valkyrierisen January 23, 2010 at 17:31 #

    I had totally lost the loving tank feeling in Wrath on my druid. Rolling a paladin with the intention to heal at 80, I levelled as prot and refound my tank-joy! It’s a blast and I’m glad you love it too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

