Satchel of Helpful Goods

20 Jan

Dear Internet,

have you seen these: Satchel of Helpful Goods ?

The satchels are rewards for running a low level character through a random dungeon using the LFG tool.  The helpful goods inside?  They’re down right tea and biscuit filled awesome.

Or would be if there were a little more selection.

Based on the level of content you’re running you’ll get one of these little bags at the end of your assigned random dungeon.  For my paladin alt the rewards for running Scarlet Monastery was a dandy blue ring.  Follow up runs netted him an equally neato blue necklace and a seemingly never ending selection of blue shoulder armor.

While most of my alts are decked out in wall to wall heirlooms, the satchels tend to target useful slots that are either ignored by the heirloom system or simply made painful by the old worlds stat itemization (++ spirit mail anyone?)

One of the loveliest bits of loot is the [Tumultuous Cloak] .  Available as a level 19 (or so) reward it’s a long flowing beauty that most same level toons will never see until Outlands or later.  I saw a well loved level 24 female tauren warrior in Thunderbluff the other day.  She was rocking the [ Polished Shoulders of Valor ] and [ Bloodied Arcanite Reaper ] both.  But what really set things off was her [Tumultuous Cloak of the Champion].  For a level 24 alt she had the fine finished look of a vanilla WoW level 60 raider.

Now there are some traditionalists that prefer the crappy green spirit armor and lackluster armor models that most of the pre-level 60 vanilla quests seem to foist off on you.  I’m not one of them.  Being able to gift a new alt with a nice weapon and some choice looking shoulders is one of the neatest things I’ve been able to do in a long time.  Plus – they reduce so much loot drama.  There’s no more running Deadmines over and over again hoping some bit of blue drops and angsting over losing the roll.  Now you can out gear most of the drops you’re likely to see and just do the dungeons for fun.   My much abused and constantly ignored paladin alt has seen SM three times in the past 3 days  and ran Uldaman so much that I might *actually* remember how to get around in the place again.  Each time we drop a boss and the loot pops out – it’s more of a curiosity than anything else.  Sometimes it’s useful – most of the time it’s not.  Plus with these loot bags, Blizzard is more or less saying: “Yeah – old world loot mostly sucks – here – enjoy some new toys.”

Now – there is still a bit of random left in the satchel system too.  Your healing priest could very easily get something [ Of the Soldier ] or [ Of the Bandit ] – so if loot angst is part of your fun – there’s still some to be had.

🙂

4 Responses to “Satchel of Helpful Goods”

  1. Len January 21, 2010 at 16:58 #

    My little satchels of unhelpful frustration don’t seem to take into account my gear at all! FIVE shoulder armours in a row, useless for a spoilt heirloom brat like my little alt!

    I realise 5 is not a large sample to take from, but the Brat also has the worst luck in pugs and I just can’t take any more awful awful players so I’ve not taken her anywhere lately…

  2. Windpaw January 21, 2010 at 17:06 #

    You know it’s funny – in raids and at level 80 – my life is nothing but frustration. The gear I want *never* drops. When it *does* – I rarely win it. But back in the little leagues? It’s raining gearz!!! So far my baby Prot Pally has managed to pick up nothing but useful items…

    Now that I’ve said this…I’m sure it’s going to change >_<

  3. Morane January 21, 2010 at 17:32 #

    Also the necklaces you can get from the satchels sell for almost 4G. So even if it’s not useful it can certainly be used to pad the wallet.

  4. Len January 21, 2010 at 18:04 #

    I have so-so luck on all my characters when it comes to gear, but I seem to have very opposite luck on pug dungeon runs on my level 80s and mini alts – I read so much about horrendous level 80 players, but can count on one hand the amount of truly awful or rude people I’ve met out of a LOT of LFD runs…

    On my baby alts, I only ever seem to meet people who don’t have the faintest idea how to play their class or are genuine loot ninjas, and refuse to even acknowledge that I’ve said something in party chat. And I promise you I’m not (usually) abusive, just offering some advice or asking a question!

Leave a Reply

