We Won’t Be Killing Arthas…

25 Sep

Or at least that’s my bet.

There are bigger fish to fry and we’ve been given way too many opportunities to “know” him and maybe even identify with him.  No – you don’t kill people like that.

If you’re smart, you make the relationship with them more complicated.  Maybe you redeem him – maybe he redeems us.  Maybe we discover something bigger – more evil even than him.  Maybe we find it and in the midst of our travail, Arthas – Arthas Menethil – saves us and in the end – saves what’s left of himself.

I know Neg’s is hoping to off the big guy once and for all before she goes nuclear but I’d be willing to bet that when it’s all said and done we don’t kill him.

Just a feeling.

5 Responses to “We Won’t Be Killing Arthas…”

  1. Stupid Mage September 25, 2009 at 20:04 #

    That is certainly an interesting observation. I’ll be around to see if you’re right.

  2. durkonkell September 30, 2009 at 18:14 #

    I would tend to agree that redemption was a real possibility were it not for Highlord Tirion Fordring shattering Arthas’ blackened heart in the Cathedral of Darkness.

    “The heart… the last remaining vestige of your humanity. I had to stop it from being destroyed. I had to see for myself. And at last I’m sure…Only shadows from the past remain. There’s nothing left to redeem!”

    With that said, indications are that it won’t simply be “The Lich King reaches 0HP, falls over saying something dramatic. Achievement pops up. Now wait for cataclysm.”
    I’m looking forward to seeing what really happens when we finally ‘defeat’ him. Maybe Tirion was wrong?

  3. windpaw September 30, 2009 at 18:30 #

    I think the key word is “confront” – I believe we’ll get to share some words with the big dude – but I don’t think there’s going to be any killing. The fact that Jaina and Sylvanas are part of the new 5-man is going to a really *interesting* dynamic. I can’t wait.

  4. durkonkell September 30, 2009 at 20:42 #

    Yeah, I have also read that! I suspect that our encounter with the Lich King in the 5-man will be in much the same vein as previously – as you say, confrontation as opposed to battle. I reckon we WILL be defeating the Lich King though, it’ll just be reserved for the raid instances.

    Interesting that Lady Jaina is taking a bigger role in the leadership of the Alliance of late. Can’t wait to see what else 3.3 has in store for us!

  5. Negathle September 30, 2009 at 21:19 #

    I agree it will be interesting, and I wonder as well if we won’t be killing Arthas as much as we will be killing Frostmourne. I’m fairly ambivalent as to if we kill him or not, I just want the fight to be epic 😀

Leave a Reply

