Faction Transfer – Crusaders and Seeker Wanna-Be-Beware

8 Sep

So faction transfer is pretty dandy.  I’ve tried it and can say that the entire process was fast and as advertised.  My mounts swapped over and my reputations did their cross faction dance.  Even the faction specific gear that I had in my bank or on my person was appropriately swapped out.

Great.  Money well spent – time to try the “other” side for a little while.

Hey…my Crusader Title is gone…

Ouch…Blizzard *did* warn folks about this but the reality of having to start things completely back over with the Argent Tournament is a pain in the ass.  Unlike Pike I’m not a great lover of Blizzard’s take on jousting.  I mean – I’m good at it – but it’s not fun anymore and hasn’t been since say – my second or third days worth of dailies.

For those that haven’t tried this out – expect to go back and start along the exact same quest lines with the Argent Tournament that you did back when it first opened up.  Yup – that means you’re back to jousting with the dummy targets and kissing frogs again.  All of that so you can get your aspirant seals and start championing your new factions…all over again…..

The real pain associated with this in my mind is if I take my faction transferred character *back* to the Horde side again.  Will she have do everything all over *again* – even though she originally left the Horde as a Crusader?

My money says “yes”.

Another catch that you should be aware of is the fact that Blizzard will wipe any faction specific quests from your completed logs.  Again – they warn you about this – but the sheer number of quests involved is way more than you might expect.  When I faction swapped – my character was about 10 quests shy of the 1500 quests completed achievement.  Afterwards – her completed quests total were about half that.  It’s a lot of work to go back through if you’ve not already finished working on your Loremaster or Seeker titles.

I’ll post more thoughts and gotchas about the faction transfer process when I’m back in game again.  Under the weather at the moment and feeling mighty GREEN

2 Responses to “Faction Transfer – Crusaders and Seeker Wanna-Be-Beware”

  1. durkonkell September 11, 2009 at 18:07 #

    Ouch…

    Bearing in mind that the Argent Tournament is very, very current content, that’s an unpleasant grind to have to do a second time just to get back to where you were. Seems like the faction transfer process is just filled with advantages and disadvantages.

    Hope you feel better soon!

  2. Kelli Garner October 3, 2009 at 06:42 #

    Thats very good to know… thanks

Leave a Reply

