Cataclysmic Reroll

21 Aug

With Cataclysm the world many of us have gamed in since 2004 / 2005 is being almost compeltely rewritten.  New zones, new races, new starting area quests.  While there are a few of us that were hoping that the Horde and the Alliance were going to grow closer, the WoW development staff went on record today to say that this was absolutely not going to happen.

War is getting put back into the World of Warcraft.  Both factions are going to be devastated by the cataclysm and hurled into a desperate war for resources.  I can’t wait to see the story develop around these changes but have to wonder what it’s going to do to everyone’s perception of “self” in the game.  Will the changes in the world and the new directions our factions are going is it going to make some of us push back from the table and say:

“I’m rerolling.”

New races – new race /class combinations – tons of new quests and a reshaped world.  It’s as if the entire game has been remade in such a way to promote the idea of starting over.

That said…

Are you?

5 Responses to “Cataclysmic Reroll”

  1. Pike August 22, 2009 at 14:26 #

    Making a goblin hunter. Probably making a worgen hunter as well just to be a completionist, but I don’t think I’d play it nearly as much as the goblin.

    Also want to make: gnome priest, tauren paladin.

    My mains, however, will still be my mains, I think.

  2. repgrind August 23, 2009 at 15:44 #

    I think I’m pretty much a mage for life..and my hunter, of course, will continue her path of collecting everything she can get her hooves on.

    BUT … I have to have a troll druid. And I will roll the two new races to check out the starting zones. Who knows whether I will play them past that.

  3. durkonkell August 25, 2009 at 14:17 #

    Like Pike, I don’t think I’ll be discarding my mains at any stage. I will, absolutely, be rolling new characters however. At least a Worgen and Goblin but I’ll be sure to keep plenty of slots open. If this ‘more class quests’ thing pans out, I’ll probably reroll any alts I have below level 30 at the time…

  4. windpaw August 25, 2009 at 16:35 #

    I think it’s fair to say that Pike will simply have a greater pallet of hunters in which to choose from as she paints a huntery slash across the newly Cataclysm’d Azeroth.

    Personally – I’m not sure – I’m even thinking about moving one of my Horde 80’s over to the Alliance side when faction swapping becomes available – just so I can hedge my bets and have some heirloom gear available just in case the desire to start over starts twerking really hard.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cataclysmic: Reactions « Your Best Shot - August 25, 2009

    […] Windpaw of Shock and Paw talks about rerolling. The completely redesigned old world, new levelling experience and new class quests do seem to encourage rerolling. I doubt it’ll affect my choice of main character, but I’ll be keeping a few character slots clear for Cataclysm. Just for the starting experience, I’ll have a worgen and goblin something. If it wasn’t so far in the future, I’d scrap my druid right now and reroll him in the new world. I love the sound of ‘more class quests’, I want a catform quest for druids and a ‘here’s how to kite since the levelling experience totally doesn’t teach you how to do this’ quest for hunters! […]

Leave a Reply

