Cataclysmic Thoughts

17 Aug

After reading MMO-Champions “leaked” story about the content of the next expansion – here are the simpler of some of my thoughts about the changes in the race class restriction changes we may be seeing.

  • Human Hunter – ( makes sense to me )
  • Orc Mage – ( more sense – orcs can learn magic )
  • Night Elf Mage – ( ditto )
  • Dwarf Mage – ( lol whut? oh okay – it should make sense too – they can read… )
  • Blood Elf Warrior – ( sure – I mean why not?)
  • Dwarf Shaman – ( an elementalist or geomancer – sure )
  • Undead Hunter – ( I could have done without this one … Is the pet dead too? )
  • Tauren Paladin – ( Their bubble alone will be epic )
  • Tauren Priest – ( still good to go – no Holy Cow jokes plox)
  • Gnome Priest – ( yup – thumbs up )
  • Troll Druid – ( … ) ( okay sure ) ( … ) ( okay wait…get back to me… )
  • There are some that would argue that class restrictions based on race don’t make sense at all.  I’m not one of those – but I’d view these changes as welcome.

    7 Responses to “Cataclysmic Thoughts”

    1. Capn John August 17, 2009 at 15:55 #

      Human Hunter – I agree
      Orc Mage – Sure. I mean you have Shamans, so why not Mages?
      Night Elf Mage – Aren’t Elves magical by nature? Or is that a myth?
      Dwarf Mage – Er…I don’t think so. Dwarfs are supposed to shun magic, and traditionally have a high resistance to magic because they don’t ‘believe’ in it.
      Blood Elf Warrior – If NElfs can be Warrios, why not BElfs?
      Dwarf Shaman – No, for the same reason as Dwarf Mage.
      Undead Hunter – I’d totally be there, and for RP reasons, be taming nothing but Pets with rotting/undead-style skins.
      Tauren Paladin – On the fence about this one, as, too the Tauren Priest.
      Gnome Priest – Absolutely!
      Troll Druid – Seriously? A troll…druid? Yeah, okay, just to see their Bear and Cat models. And for the same reason…we demand Gnome Druids! That would be hilarious. Bear Cub and Kitten (or just plain house cat-form) FTW!

    2. Windpaw August 17, 2009 at 16:21 #

      The real points of the discussion thus far: Dwarf Magic Users – LOL WUT ?

      I’d have to agree if we were talking about traditional – tolkienesque Dwarves. But dwarves in many traditions were *very* magic oriented. So – I’m offering some leeway and trying to look at these proposed “changes” as a very Blizzard-centric view on dwarves.

      After all – dwarves in WOW are from the “Earthen” – which if my runs through new content and Uldaman show that there are both earthen shaman and earthen mages.

      The Dwarven Shaman makes sense to me after seeing so many of the dwarf like races in WotLK that use geomancy or “earth magic” as part of their excuse to lightning bolt you death.

      So – while I’m a little antsy on having a dwarf running around thowing down totems – I can buy it from a Bliz-Lore POV.

      The Tauren Pally / Priest piece – this looks to have some ground work being laid in game as we speak. A random quest to nowhere now leads players to a druid talking with an injured student about how he’s coming to understand the relationship with the Earthmother and elune differently. It’s a neat read – and I expect to see it grow as we get closer to Cataclysm time. There’s a ton of theorycrafting about this lore wise out on the Interwebs right now.

      Troll Druid…I mean – I can see it. Using ZG and ZA as a model – I can see it. But…damn.

    3. Zoei August 17, 2009 at 17:05 #

      WILDHAMMER DWARF! I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am that this “little” piece of lore is finally making it’s way into the game.

      My issue is with the Belf Warrior… I still think that they look as though they would fall over if you breathed on them.

    4. Capn John August 17, 2009 at 17:33 #

      Ok, maybe Dwarf Shaman/Geomancer, but definitely not Dwarf Mage 😀

      Although I’d also accept a Dwarf Druid in honor of Pikel Bouldershoulder 🙂

    5. Windpaw August 17, 2009 at 18:03 #

      LOL – Pikel Bouldershoulder – man I haven’t thought about him in YEARS!

      Oo – Oi! Don’t make him beat you senseless with his sha la la!

      The Wildhammer dwarves are a great inclusion as they’ve been in most of the Warcraft Novels – etc.

      @ Zoei – if the gnomes can have warriors – I suppose the BELF’s should….would make more sense than BELF Pallies in my book >_<

    6. Negathle August 17, 2009 at 22:53 #

      Honestly, I’d sooner see a BE druid than a troll one. There are no troll druids in lore, but there are Blood Elves.

      Undead Hunters exist because Human Hunters Exist. Ever notice they have the exact same classes (sans palidan)?

    7. Windpaw August 18, 2009 at 00:04 #

      “I’d sooner see a BE druid that a troll one,” quoth Negathle.

      :: world stares in mute horror at that image ::

      “Does this bear form make me look fat?”

      (and that’s the *male* blood elf…)

      As far as the undead hunters go – absolutely – just because you’re dead doesn’t mean you can’t still love fluffy the raptor and want to be with him.

    Leave a Reply

