Cataclysm Races

10 Aug

Well the world gets its news from WOWInsider (sorry – WOW.com now) and I think some of the most recent “it’s news – but it’s not really news) is their claim that the two new playable races in next expansion pack are to be Worgen and Goblins.

Apparently the Alliance are picking up Worgen and the Horde are saddled with Goblins.  I’ve got mixed emotions about this but honestly after the vanilla world turned upside down with the introduction of Blood Elves, Draenei and the whole lore mash that is the Blood Elf paladin I’m not ruling anything out or expecting to be truly surprised.  This is high fantasy, the dead don’t stay that way, the world is always circling the bowl and everything you ever knew can at any moment be cast aside, flipped upside down, ground down real fine and fed to the Talbuk.

If the reports end up being true and the next expansion indeed dawns as “World of Warcraft Cataclysm” replete with Worgen and Goblins the only two things that I really bet on is that:

1) The Worgen starting zone will be jammed *full* of rerollers

2) The Goblin starting zone really wont – not for long

Don’t get me wrong, I know there are a ton of folks that would love to play a goblin.  I’m not one of them – but then I have a propensity for playing female Tauren – an affliction that has both of my young sons eyeing their poor dad with obvious concern.  The problem I foresee is that there are gobs and gobs of folk that would just LOVE to play some kind of pseudo Werewolf.

That said, is the addition of Worgen going to slew overall population density even further toward the Alliance?  Short of giving the Horde, Vampire Catgirls in a content patch after Cataclysm drops I’d expect some pretty scary times for the Horde as we know it.

But honestly – will the whole faction divide as we know it even matter when Cataclysm comes out?

With the addition of faction swapping inbound and protagonists like Varian Wrynn and Garrosh Hellscream stirring up old, old hatreds in new and interesting ways,  could we be seeing a split of the typical Horde vs. Alliance faction violence we’re used to?  Or will things really be burned down with Horde races and Alliance races mingling freely in some completely new “us versus them” scenario we haven’t even thought of yet?  Thanks to all that reputation grinding we’ve been doing the past few years, we’re already used to faction within a faction infighting (thank you Scryers and Aldor).  Why not take it a step further?

When Thrall and Jaina Proudmoore stand together against the madness that is a full on war between Varian and Garrosh – I can see a whole new dynamic being added.  Brother versus brother – a new War Chief – and some huge looming threat that’s threatening to take all of Azeroth and cast it whole into the ravening maw of the Cataclysm…unless we can all find a way to stop it.

6 Responses to “Cataclysm Races”

  1. Pike August 11, 2009 at 03:03 #

    I said it on Twitter, and I will say it here… if Alliance gets Worgen I will very seriously consider a perma-switch to Horde. That probably sounds petty, but really, the Vampire roleplay on my server is bad enough; adding werewolves? No thank ya. I like the Goblins better anyway…

  2. Negathle August 11, 2009 at 13:35 #

    I really really *really* hope it will be a situation of you get to choose your own faction.

  3. Zoei August 11, 2009 at 14:53 #

    Us vs. Them, eh? Imagine this, then: at level 90, all characters (regardless of faction) can communicate with each other. Trade BLOWS UP!

  4. Windpaw August 11, 2009 at 15:59 #

    @ Pike / Negs -> A third “way” – a choose your own faction is my personal preference as well. While I think Worgen could be a very cool addition – implemented within the current faction structure it would simply create too much Alliance bias on servers that are probably pretty Alliance biased already.

    @ Zoei -> I completely forgot about TRADE in all of this speculation. Gah…Good thing I left that channel on all of my toons a long, long time ago.

  5. Morane August 11, 2009 at 16:30 #

    Worgen?? In the Alliance?! Sorry, I don’t buy it. I can’t really see goblins in the Horde either, but Worgen in the alliance?

    Ogres, now that *would* be cool. Even better – a third faction : Goblins, ogres and murlocs.

  6. Dan mc April 12, 2011 at 19:38 #

    Nice post about Cataclysm Races, if you want to find out more about new racials in cataclysm then you may find this blog about cataclysm racial useful.

Leave a Reply

