Blizzard Writing Contest

27 May

Well it’s a little late in coming – but Blizzard posted  the winners of their first Creative Writing Contest!

Yours truly wasn’t anywhere on the list >_<

Ah well – here’s to hoping that someone in our circle of blogs managed to do better!

After the initial soul crushing kick in the gut that this kind of news always is – I sat down and spent some time really thinking about the problems with the story.

1) Needed Moar Editz

2) Needed Less Procrastination (the real killer)

3) Must lrn2 grammar better

4) I misspelled Valiance Keep – like 50 times…

While a story might still entertain 20 out of 50 people – when you’re doing something for publication or a competition as hotly contested as this one was it needs to be as close to error free as possible.  Small errors look big when you’re reading through 1500 submissions and lots of small errors can make a judge set your story completely aside.

Oh…one last thing.  It looks like I need to take Coward Delivery down altogether.  By submitting it to the contest it looks like I’ve lost *all* rights to it forever and ever.  Up to and including posting it on my own blog.  Blizzard claims that they will post more about the conditions later – I’ll be sure to tune in to that when they do.  A lot of folks that posted and didn’t win are just realizing this last bit and are pretty bummed by it.  

Anway – was a good shot.  Wish I would have done better.  Time to get back to writing!

– Windpaw

11 Responses to “Blizzard Writing Contest”

  1. Althoran May 28, 2009 at 03:13 #

    Sorry to hear about the writing contest – you sure have talent though. One of these days you’ll break through though. 🙂

  2. Negathle May 28, 2009 at 05:20 #

    I eagerly looked down the list for your name and was disappointed. 😦 Better luck next year – you definitely have the talent!

  3. Capn John May 28, 2009 at 13:47 #

    I wonder if they’ll run another competition in the not too distant future.

    Although I think the biggest problem with my “Becoming the Hunter” story is part II with BRK’s “Naked Gnome Race”. If the Judges are not familiar with all player-created content, such as BRK’s races, then they may not get the reference and there goes that entire section and possibly any chance I’d have at even just an Honorable Mention.

    Sorry you missed out 😦

    I am looking forward to reading the winning entries though. Would be nice to see the quality it takes to win an event like that.

  4. Klinderas May 28, 2009 at 16:33 #

    ….

    Well, damn. There goes my ego. *deflate*

    It was still an awesome story!

  5. Chawa May 28, 2009 at 18:12 #

    I’m disappointed that you didn’t win as well but I find it’s really impressive that you’re already analyzing things in order to improve for the next time!!

  6. Syrana May 30, 2009 at 23:25 #

    You know, I wonder if you and I disqualified ourselves by *already* having (at least in part) the entries on our blogs for public display.

    As far as the rights go, I knew they’d have the rights and pretty much figure they already have them… but didn’t think it might mean I have to take down the parts I used in my entry…

    /worry

  7. Elzandra June 8, 2009 at 03:20 #

    Blarg. I have to say the top story didn’t hold my interest. Maybe I will finish it, maybe I won’t *shrug*. Don’t beat yourself up over this silly contest—writing is hard! You know I am always a fan of your stuff :).

  8. Capn John June 8, 2009 at 04:54 #

    How in Orion’s name did this get an honorable mention?

    “Not wanting to take the switchbacks back down through the gulch, he made his way over the winch-lift. Two young squires quickly appeared, and for a couple of coins, they manned the winch. Janner felt the usual stomach-turning sensation as the lift eased out over empty space. He looked at the shadowed cleft of the gulch, but for no reason he could understand, the sight of it sent shivers running up and down his spine.”

    None of the commas the author used need to be there, but to me their inappropriate use made reading this particular extract feel very stilted.

    The fact that this piece was selected shows the judges either didn’t know what they were doing – possibly just Blizzard employees doubling as judges- or they were biased so much towards particular pieces that they ignored, or failed to see, sloppy punctuation like this.

  9. Windpaw June 11, 2009 at 20:01 #

    Hey folks – thanks for all the positive comments – they mean a great deal.

    @Syrana – maybe – I thought about that and wonder if I didn’t disqualify myself. I think it’s better for me to assume my story just didn’t tickle the judges in the right ways. That way I don’t let myself get complacent.

    @Cap’n – Heh – you’re talking to the wrong amigo when it comes to comma usage. I know Temerity Jane used to give poor BRK absolute hell about it as well. He and I both tend to use them where we want them to be – not so much where they ought to be. My guess is the writer of that particular piece is of the same school 😉

    @Elzandra – hey you! I didn’t even realize the winning pieces were available to be read through! Ah well. Maybe I’ll look for them later.

    One thing that I really wanted to take away from the contest was the act of writing something to completion and submitting it. That’s often half the battle. The rest – honestly – can sometimes come down to luck. The right person in the right mood reads your story and something works for them. While I’ve not read Twilight or any of her other books – one thing that I remember from Stephenie Meyer’s blog was the several rejections (some even very snotty, hurtful rejections) she received before one editor recognized her manuscript for the potential popular bestseller it turned out to be.

  10. Jakz June 16, 2009 at 04:04 #

    We are all happy that you entered. You are one of OUR favorite writers and we will continue to read your offerings with pleasure. If you ever need editing or grammar help, just email me the stuffs! (School teacher I is….correcting I can do!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. And The Winner Is . . . - Sideshow & Syrana - January 6, 2010

    […] 21. What is the name of the story Windpaw of Shock and Paw submitted for Blizzard’s Creative Writing Contest? Coward Delivery […]

Leave a Reply

