A Long Time Ago…

26 May

There was this thing called the “Epic Hunter Quest”.

And it was – epic. 

At the heart of the quest was loot of course – wonderful loot – loot that truly deserved that most rare and royal of all colors – purple.

4015

Lovely Rhok’delar….supplicants that wished to have an everblooming shaft of magical yew, strung with dragon sinew had to first conquer a hate (and fire!) filled instance called Molten Core.  If they were lucky – or if they had no life for all the MC runs it might take for one to drop – there was an Ancient Petrified Leaf to be had.  The next step was Onyxia.  For those lucky few that were in a guild capable of taking her down there was  a shot at a another piece of the puzzle – The Mature Black Dragon Sinew.

Once the pieces were put together the young hunter was lead on a string of quests that had them hunting demons and exercising class skills that went far beyond pointing and shooting normally associated with the huntard.

It was a neat questline – epic – awesome.

And I never got to do it.

And if Blizzard’s content development continues as is – there will likely never be anything like it again.

Kinda weird to be longing for vanilla WOW – but I have been of late.  Do you miss the old game at all – or are you one of many wondering what the fuss was about?

Yes…another blog post…hey – at least I’m writing >_<

5 Responses to “A Long Time Ago…”

  1. Lifedeathsoul May 27, 2009 at 02:25 #

    Ah well… the good thing about being 80 and all is that you can now go back and solo things that you couldn’t before 🙂 You could try duoing MC though 🙂

  2. Negathle May 27, 2009 at 03:19 #

    Every. Single. Day.

    We bitched about how long everything took back in the day – remember when 100g was an amount you had to scrimp and save for? – but looking back, it was time well spent.

    Dedication meant something back then. You got awesome loot and/or amazing lore for the time you spent working towards it. There were no loot pinatas, just perseverance.

    I don’t deny the desire to allow more players to experience such quality experiences by making them less time intensive, but I really miss that feeling of success after devoting a period of hard work towards it.

  3. Anna May 27, 2009 at 03:35 #

    As a hunter who got her Rhok after BC released (couldn’t do it during regular WoW because my connection was so bad) and only recently finally got 8/8 Giant Stalkers… and is now working on Dragonstalker…

    No – you’re not alone 🙂 I actually talked a little about the nostalgia for Vanilla Wow – and the loss of “epic” raiding. I don’t know that it’s a bad thing, and I like a lot of the changes, but I do still miss those days in MC as well.

  4. Pike May 27, 2009 at 13:33 #

    I have the Sinew from Ony, I just need that stupid leaf. Done MC 3 or 4 times now and it’s never dropped. Besides which, anytime I get in a group for it, there are several other hunters clamoring for it.

    What I plan on doing when I get it:

    -Respec with only using 51 talent points
    -Respec my pet so he is using… 12 or however many he’d have if he was level 60
    -Only wear stuff that is wearable by a level 60 or lower: I have a ton of old tier stuff in my bank, and I’d buy the rest off the AH
    -Go do that questline without once looking online to see how it’s done

  5. Chawa May 27, 2009 at 18:19 #

    I am a newbie. I got my first character up to 80 1 month before WOTLK so I never experienced Vanilla WoW. Of course, now that me & the guildies have cleared Naxx, my fav pastime is running old content dungeons. Yes, it is achievement motivated but seeing new content is much fun!

Leave a Reply

