What You See Here Is…

15 May

I’ve been stinking it up here a fair bit lately and I want to apologize.  When I first created this blog – my intent was to simply use it as a place to hold my writing.  What I never really expected was that people would enjoy it – or bother reading it with any regularity.  

The problem with blogging is that a lot of times you get distracted and start focusing on the wrong thing.

For my part – I stop being a writer and start trying to be a blogger.   This is a mistake and a categorical denial of my original intent and focus.

You see, I’m a fairly decent fiction / non-fiction writer, but I’m not that great at being a blogger.  The problem with trying to blog is that you often get spun off into worrying about the number of comments you’re getting or the number of page views showing up in your site statistics.  To see both grow is gratifying for the ego – but not necessarily useful.  My goal was to write more.  Not blog more.

Yes – there are distinctions between the two.

Bloggers *write* – and that is not in dispute.  The really good ones are digital storytellers – modern bards that entertain the bored cublical dwellers of todays workplace.  To be a successful blogger requires talents that many traditional “writers” have a hard time groking.  Things like the ability to be consistent and entertaining – or to even teach and provide value beyond the delicate and careful selection of their words.  Those that can manage to weave an entertaining and useful blogging “persona” while doing this are that are often the most successful.

I’d love to be able to do this.  Who wouldn’t?  But first things first.  I just need to work on the writing part.

So – I’m resetting.  No more posts about crappy guilds.  No more posts about how I hate Death Knights.  No more generic WOW centric grumbling.  You can find that done ad naseum in any of a million other sites with clever names and better cascading style sheets.

For those that have visited before and plan on sticking around to see what’s next.  Thanks – I love  you – you are wonderful human beans.  Feel free to visit – but expect the quantity of posts to drop somewhat.

Hopefully the quality will not.

Have a great weekend!

4 Responses to “What You See Here Is…”

  1. Pike May 15, 2009 at 20:58 #

    When it comes to both writing and blogging, I follow the wise words of Paul Simon in one of his songs;

    “So you wanna be a writer, you don’t know how or when?
    Find a quiet place; use a humble pen
    You wanna talk talk talk about it all night squawk about it…”

    So that’s just a brief lyric but it pops into my mind a lot when I think about blogging/writing. All I ever needed to know about blogging I learned from Paul Simon. True story…

  2. Negathle May 15, 2009 at 21:29 #

    I know how you feel, though I think in the reverse. I have a lot I want to write/blog about, but I have no time to do it in, so the quality of posts has decreased more than I like. I really hate it, but there is not much I can do about it until my schedule lightens up.

    Glad to hear we get some more Windpaw fic coming up!

  3. Syrana May 16, 2009 at 23:53 #

    I think you make a good point about getting distracted sometimes. But honestly, I’ll read whether you are writing or you are blogging because I like your style… for both. 🙂

    Btw, I have to say… possibly related posts can be quite amusing sometimes… “God Made Us Sisters; Prozac Made Us Friends” >.>

  4. Klinderas May 19, 2009 at 18:34 #

    I know what you mean when you say “losing focus”. I think my blog may have suffered a bit on that front too, but no one has said otherwise, so to hell with it.

    XD

    Remember to write what you enjoy writing about, and to never stop.

Leave a Reply

