If It All Went Away Tomorrow

8 May

showSome months back Tobold wrote a great “what if” article.  The whole premise had to do with:

“What would you do – if you woke up one morning and found that all of your characters were gone – and that there was no getting them back?”

Every server – every character – gone.  With no hope of restore.  

What do you do?  Start over?  Douse your computer in kerosene and have a cookout?  Cry…cry for a long, long time.

Or some vaguely painful and expensive version of all three?

I remember actually feeling really excited.  A fresh start?  Everyone is level 1 again? AWESOME!  I know a lot of serious altoholics would have little problem starting over (after all – they’ve done it so many times!) But for the real achievers out there to suddenly lose toons that had seen Molten Core back in the 40 man hey-day – to lose characters that had 20+ exalted reputations.  Battlemasters – Conquerers – Savage-Deadly-Cranky Gladiators.  That might be too much for some to handle.

The real question in my mind is this:

If  you *did* start over –

What race…

What class…

What faction…

PvP – PvE – RP – or RP-PvP?

Would you simply start over with the same race and class of you last main or would you cut ties and jump the faction fence and try something completely different?

3 Responses to “If It All Went Away Tomorrow”

  1. repgrind May 8, 2009 at 19:59 #

    I wouldn’t have to think about it long, actually….I’d reroll Roz again. Male troll mage, RP server….everything must burn (until I’m high enough level to get arcane barrage).

    Would it suck? You bet. My (real? old? first?) main, the hunter, has all kinds of achievements (50 pets, 50 mounts, etc) and I would definitely miss that. But … I love the game so much, it wouldn’t keep me from it.

  2. Pike May 9, 2009 at 13:59 #

    Same class, obviously… =P

    I’d see what my in-game friends were doing. We’ve tossed around ideas before of rerolling Horde on an RP-PvP server. I dunno if we’d actually really do it, though. Regardless, I’d go where they went, and level (another) hunter.

  3. Syrana May 13, 2009 at 00:57 #

    I would likely reroll Syrana first, and then various alts. I’d be sure to stay on the same server as Sideshow this time… no venturing off on my “own server” only to miss grouping with him and transfer to him after a year on my “own server.” 😛

Leave a Reply

