Happy Hunter Karma

30 Mar

Sometimes things just sort of go right.  Rainchaser managed to trudge her way to 77 over the weekend and ran a almost constant series of 5-man Northrend instances.  Along the way she managed to pick up the Drakkari Hunting Bow and Cannibal’s Legguards on a couple of super fast runs through Gundrak.  These great drops were significant in my mind for two reasons.

  1. Stuff never drops for me…evar….
  2. I won a contested roll for the legguards with a 99

Which never happens either….

So I had some reinforcement for my strange theory that the gently stirred mix of my hunter mojo and wow karma continues to hold pleasant rewards as long as I’m logged on to Rainchaser.

What’s that you say?  Two non-heroic drops and a single good roll in one weekend aren’t enough to convince you that things just work better when I’m logged on to my hunter?

Well…How about this:

kitteh

Stop looking at me right meow...

Found him on Saturday at 66,77 around 2:45pm, nestled in amongst a bunch of white gorrillas.  I’d been casually hunting him while questing and skinning around Sholazar with no real luck for about a day.  With 3-4 hunters on epic flyers circling the basin at any given time looking to grab him up and at least that many more 80’s in search of an achievement for killing him I had decided that an encounter with the fabled spirit beast just wasn’t in the cards.

Still, something led me to that rock and those gorillas and something else told me to stay put.  I was there for about 45 minutes all told.  Just hanging out – farming some leather – and watching the folks on their epic flyers breeze in, hover and leave.  I walked away for a couple of minutes to grab a drink and kiss the wife – on my return – there he was.

Just need to name him 🙂

7 Responses to “Happy Hunter Karma”

  1. duniness March 30, 2009 at 21:24 #

    I feel your pain about the loot drops. Over 30 runs in SL and I never even saw the sonic spear drop much less lost a roll for it. However a quick repec at 76 and 3 hours later I found the SB up at 36.31. I guess it helps if you play at 3am server time.

    Loot karma….Love It!

  2. duniness March 30, 2009 at 21:27 #

    Sorry for not saying it before but WOOT! Congrats 🙂

  3. Sarai March 31, 2009 at 06:24 #

    Omygollyspiritbeastgrats!

    On the other hand I am soooo jealous right now. /target spirit beast /want

  4. Zoei March 31, 2009 at 07:12 #

    Congratulations! He’s so puurty 🙂

  5. Pike March 31, 2009 at 14:15 #

    Oooo grats. I think I’ve pretty much given up on the Spirit Beast myself…

  6. Capn John April 1, 2009 at 01:47 #

    From one Hunter to another, I think I can say “Oooohhhhh!!!” and have you know exactly what I mean.

    You know your Spirit Beast is a he, so you’ve narrowed the name list down by 50% already 😉

    Gratz on the awesomely cool gear. That bow looks wicked awesome, and probably looks amazing wielded by Rainchaser. Tis the perfect Tauren’s bow.

  7. Chawa April 2, 2009 at 14:38 #

    I think you’ve earned this welcome home karma!

Leave a Reply

