Influences

17 Mar

 The few folks that stop by this blog and those in particular that comment are a rare and strange bunch that I have to admit I’m curious about.  No Sideshow – not stalker curious – just curious.  First off, most of us all play the same game and we have probably all absorb a lot of the same media (books, comics, music – etc.)

So what are your favorites?  What books and music do you normally grativate to?

Here’s a format:

  1. Favorite Author or Authors
  2. Favorite music (by band or genre)
  3. Favorite Web Comic (or regular comic if you’re still giving mony to DC and Marvel)
  4. Favorite Graphic Novel

For myself:

  1. Tolkien (first fantasy I had ever been introduced to) – other favorites for different reasons include Phillip Pulman, Louis Lamour, Kenneth Opel, William Gibson and Edward Abbey
  2. Too many to name – literally everything from Atreyu to my mom’s old John Denver albums – it’s all situational.
  3. Order of the Stick is probably one of my favorites as is xkcd – seriously – both of these guys elicit more laughter and emotion for me with stick figures than Fred Gallagher and the Penny Arcade gang do together.
  4. Hmmm – not sure – when I was younger I was crazy about Wendy and Richard Pini’s Elfquest series (probably why I love playing a hunter!)  I’ve dallied with comics and manga on and off for years but nothing’s really stuck, know what I mean?

How about you?

10 Responses to “Influences”

  1. Jakz March 18, 2009 at 02:49 #

    1. Classics aside, I have found that I am really enjoying the Jim Butcher (Dresden Files) series and the Rachel Caine (Weather Warden) series. Since I have a teenager, I have read the requisite Twilight books. Bleh…. PC and Kristen Cast have a much better, and FUNNIER, series.

    2. Favorite music tends toward heavy alternative: Stone Sour, Avenged 7x. Old metal heads never die I guess.
    3. Favorite web comic – Looking for Group
    4. I hadn’t thought of the Elfquest crew in such a long time! I am gonna have to go dig them up now:) Thanks for the reminder tho!

  2. Pike March 18, 2009 at 03:50 #

    1. Fyodor Dostoyevsky. Richard Adams (Watership Down) and Philip Pullman (His Dark Materials series) are probably second and third respectively. But Dostoyevsky… I am such a fangirl. ❤

    2. Anything. And. Everything. I do like electronica/synthy stuff a little more than other stuff. But seriously… anything and everything =P

    3. Oh goodness, don’t make me choose. It’s either Goblins, Last Days of Foxhound, or It’s Walky! though. (I demand that everyone, EVERYONE, read It’s Walky. The comic ended a few years ago so it has a definitive beginning and end, and combing through the archives takes a good weekend, but it is… soooo worth it.)

    4. I… haven’t read any. /sob

  3. duniness March 18, 2009 at 04:39 #

    1. Patrick O’Brian, Tolkien and I have always been partial to Asimov from childhood.
    2. Jazz, classical and some opera. What can I say, old guy and a geek
    3. web comic is LFG now, used to be Flintlock vrs the Horde but that’s kinda cooled off a bit lately
    4. I guess I am a bit old and out of touch but never really differentiated manga/graphic novel vrs a really long comic book, but I do remember EQ! Thanks for the link gonna check that out.

  4. Windpaw March 18, 2009 at 05:33 #

    @ Pike: Holy Cats – I totally forgot about Walky! I loved his original series and wish he was still focusing on it more so than say Shortpacked. I like both – but the original Walky is a favorite … (I’m batman)

    @ duniness: I read Foundation and yeah – solid addition.

    @ Jakz: I’ve seen the weather witch series but never picked one up. Have you read anything by Patricia Biggs? I’m not usually a vampire / werewolf kinda guy but her Mercy Thompson series is really fun.

  5. Sarai March 18, 2009 at 20:30 #

    1. Almost all I read is fantasy, so… Tolkien of course, Mercedes Lackey, R.A. Salvatore, I’m currently re-reading Tad Williams’ Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn trilogy, it’s one of my absolute faves

    2. Depends on my mood, but usually rock/heavy metal. I don’t like most contemporary lyrics tho, so I tend to listen to Christian bands. As I Lay Dying and RED are my current favorites

    3. Only web comic I read is Dark Legacy, they are really funny tho.

    4. Don’t usually read them. I was going to check out the Sunwell Trilogy, but haven’t got around to it yet.

  6. Capn John March 18, 2009 at 20:30 #

    Favorite Author
    If I had to pick just one out of them all…Terry Pratchett.

    Favorite music (by band or genre)
    My station of choice here in L.A. is Country, but I’m a fairly diverse kind of guy who likes just about everything bar Gangsta Rap.

    Favorite Web Comic
    I have an email sub to Dilbert and Get Fuzzy, with links on my Blog to Penny Arcade and Ctrl-Alt-Del

    Favorite RL comics/heroes are the Punisher, Batman, and Captain America.

    Favorite Graphic Novel
    Probably Hiroaki Samura’s “Blade of the Immortal”

  7. Sarai March 18, 2009 at 20:34 #

    For #1 add Terry Brooks, i forgot him /facepalm
    His Shannara series is awesome, as epic as Tolkien imho

  8. Pike March 19, 2009 at 14:25 #

    I am glad to see a fellow Walkyphile, Windpaw. *nodnod* Although I have to admit I’ve shamed myself by neglecting to mention basically one of my favorite webcomics of all time ever…

    Elf Only Inn.

    Soooo much win.

  9. Syrana March 20, 2009 at 00:21 #

    I’m a little late on this (catching up on the reader >.<) Unfortunately, Sideshow probably won’t break outta stealth, but Syrana will answer… the best she can! 😉

    1. To name a few: C.S. Lewis, Stephen King, Dean Koontz, John Grisham… (and the Warcraft novels are awesome!)

    2. Metal. Definitely metal or rock. A few faves though: Metallica, Godsmack, Nine Inch Nails, Korn, Megadeth, Dream Theater… I could go on and on.

    3. Erm, not real steady in this category but Dilbert, LFG, Penny Arcade when I do get ’round to it.

    4. And… none 😦

  10. Morane March 20, 2009 at 16:59 #

    – I don’t really go for authors. Of all the books I’ve enjoyed every author but one has other books I hated. The one exception is Douglas Adams.

    – Almost anything with good (melodic not raucous) guitar playing: Clapton, Dire Straits, Fleetwood Mac. Recently: Five for Fighting, Maroon 5, Coldplay.

    – XKCD, Dark Legacy Comics, Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal.

    – I don’t read graphic novels, that’s what my imagination is for. I did skim 300 at the bookstore but I didn’t like it.

Leave a Reply

