Yeah – I Saw It….

16 Mar

Several of you have e-mailed or commented about the Creative Writing Contest that Blizzard just kicked off.  Yes – I’ve seen it.  Yes – I’m entering it.  No – I have no good idea what I’m going to submit as yet >_<

The entry requires a piece between 3000 and 10,000 words, which is a fair bit longer than the average story I post here.  So I have to decide fairly quickly whether I’m going to write something new or go with a current work in progress.

Either way – I don’t have a lot of time to decide as the deadline for submissions is April 12th.  Honestly – this is more than enough time – I’m just feeling under the gun because Muse and Productivity jumped in the toilet shortly after I got home.  Last I saw they were both swimming for Peru.

So any thoughts?  I probably ought to finish Coward Delivery and use it as an entry.  With the installments I’ve already completed, I’m just over 3000 words.  Best bet is that I could wrap it up for the contest with 5-6000.  I want to be careful about how long the piece is as I’m sure that the editors will be bombarded with a lot of great stuff.  In situations like that I think it’s better to have something that is quick, tight and leaves the reader wanting to more.

Decisions, decisions.

Either way – to everyone that has poked at me about this – thank you.  The votes of confidence are unbelievably helpful.  That said, I’m taking a hard look at what I’ve written thus far and making note of some issues I think I need to work on – namely:

  1. Consistency
  2. Grammar
  3. Wordiness-ness

Grammar and a need to over describe are two of my biggest failures as a writer (IMHO).  The grammar bit I’m working on (promise) and I’m reviewing some of my favorite examples of clean tight prose and trying to make adjustments.  I don’t expect what I submit to be perfect (nothing is) but I don’t want it to be sloppy. 

(Okay – getting to work – more later!)

One Response to “Yeah – I Saw It….”

  1. Sarai March 18, 2009 at 20:32 #

    Good luck! I thought about entering myself, but I probably won’t. 😦

Leave a Reply

